My Corseting History

Recently, someone asked me how I got started making corsets for others. Suddenly I realised I had never thought about it. The question was simple enough. For a long time it was just something I stumbled into.

I guess it started when I bought my first corset. It was pretty and fit me in the waste with blue brocade silk and lace. Walking in front of a mirror had become one of my favorite pastimes.  However, the corset itself was really uncomfortable.

The boning pushed into my sides and hips. I felt like the form of my new happy was trying to flatten out my spine. I was dispointed in that I couldn’t wear my corset for very long. My only thought was, ” Surely we can do better than this!”

I purchased a total of three corsets. I knew somewhere was a corset out there for me that would fit perfectly. The option for a custom made corset was there, however, that service was extremely priced.

It was at this time that I began researching. I looked into the way corsets were constructed and help on the best form for me. It wasn’t long until I stumbled upon a basic corset pattern! It looked easy enough…

I read the instructions on how to build my own custom corset.  My first attempt was not that pretty I didn’t use steel boning, and I didn’t have a clue what courtil was.

I thought I could do better. So, I did what anyone in my situation would do, I went to YouTube. I found a corset making videos, lacing videos and many of the things about the product. Finally, I hit a break video that didn’t look too is interesting a corset review.

I found a wonderful person, Lucy, from Lucy Corsets. Her videos on corset building were incredibly helpful and informative. I learned a great amount from her. Everything else, was from trial and error experiments.

So that my story! I enjoy making corset for a variety of body types. No two projects are the same and everyone has their old style.

Leave a Reply

